Home > All Services > Community > Tracing Your Family

Tracing Your Family

Tracing your Family Tree can be very time consuming see below a list of websites that have been compiled to help you.

The following sites may be of use to the amateur genealogist in tracing their family roots.
Some or all of the following details will be needed to get you started.

  • Full Name
  • Date of Birth - date/time/place
  • Christening - date/time/place
  • Marriage - date/time/place
  • Death - date
  • Profession/occupation details 
Government Records Website Addresses
National Archives www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Public Record Office (Northern Ireland) www.proni.gov.uk
General Register Office (England & Wales) www.gro.gov.uk
General Register Office (Northern Ireland) www.nidirect.gov.uk/
General Register Office (Republic of Ireland) www.groireland.ie/
General Register Office (Scotland ) www.gro-scotland.gov.uk
National Archives of Ireland www.nationalarchives.ie
National Archives of Scotland (NAS) www.nas.gov.uk
Civil Registry (Isle of Man) www.gov.im/registries/general/civilregistry/
Scotland's People www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk
Family Records Centre www.gov.uk/research-family-history
Office of National Statistics www.statistics.gov.uk
1901 Census www.ukcensusonline.com/census/1901.php
Historical Manuscripts Commission www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/archives-sector/hmc.htm
British Library India Office www.bl.uk
National Library of Wales www.llgc.org.uk

 

 

Genealogical Societies Website Addresses
Assoc. of Genealogists www.agra.org.uk
Burke's Peerage & Gentry www.burkes-peerage.net
Federation of Family History Societies www.ffhs.org.uk
Guild of One-Name Studies www.one-name.org
Irish Genealogical Research Society www.igrsoc.org
Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain www.jgsgb.org.uk
Scottish Genealogy www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk
Society of Genealogists www.sog.org.uk
UK and Ireland Genealogical Info. Service www.genuki.org.uk

 

 

Online Databases Website Addresses
Access to Archives Database (archives in publicly accessible collections) www.a2a.org.uk
Ancestral Scotland www.ancestralscotland.com
Ancestors www.ancestors.com
BT Group Archives www.bt.com/archives
Chineseroots www.chineseroots.com
Cyndi's List www.cyndislist.com
Free BMD (Births, Marriages, and Deaths) www.freebmd.org.uk
Free Census www.1901censusonline.com
Free Reg https://www.freereg.org.uk/
Family Search of the LDS www.familysearch.org
Familia www.heritagebuildsbridges.org.uk/heritage/links/Fam-Hist.htm
Genes Reunited www.genesreunited.co.uk
My Trees www.mytrees.com
My Family www.myfamily.com
Origins (for British and Irish records) www.origins.net
Rootsweb Surname List www.rootsweb.com
English Origins www.englishorigins.com
Scots Origins www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/
Surname Profiler www.spatial-literacy.org/uclnames
UKBMD (Local Authority online databases) www.ukbmd.org.uk

 


Last updated 7 February 2017

 
 
Back to the top of the page