Customer case management policy for unacceptable customer behaviours and actions

What are unacceptable customer behaviours and actions?

The following definitions are not intended to cover all possible unacceptable or difficult customer behaviour. However, they are intended to provide a clear guide to support staff.

Offensive or insulting customer behaviour

Behaviour which is rude or unpleasant including repeated use of inappropriate language.

Abusive or threatening customer behaviour

Behaviour which is threatening or intimidating, either through the use of abusive or threatening language or a clearly threatening manner or tone intended to intimidate. Abusive or threatening behaviour is where a member of staff thinks that they have been personally abused or threatened as a result of a customer's behaviour. This may include insinuating or libellous behaviour which may be dealt with within other more suitable, existing policies.

Difficult customer behaviour

This can be exhibited by any customer causing the person dealing with them difficulty for whatever reason, this could include a customer refusing to accept a decision made by the council or not agreeing with a policy which is already in place.

Unreasonably persistent contact

Repeated contact with the council raising the same issues or a variation of the same issues each time. Taking a 'scatter gun' approach and contacting many different staff, services and other bodies about the same issue. Unreasonably persistent behaviour could include repeat requests for information and unreasonable or inappropriate use of staff resources.

Unreasonable demands

Expecting resolution or response within unreasonable timescales, expecting staff to provide administrative support, for example, writing emails or letters on behalf of the customer or taking lengthy messages. Customers who demand to speak with senior members of staff which would not normally be appropriate for that enquiry/contact.


Failure to afford equal respect to an individual on the basis of disability, gender, race, religion, age, sexuality and marital status.