By-election candidates confirmed

Published: 8 June 2024

Image shows a post-it note saying 'remember photo-ID to vote at the polling station'
The Madeley and Betley by-election for two council seats will take place on the same day as the General Election.

Five candidates are standing for two seats on Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council, after a by-election was called.

Both seats in the Madeley and Betley ward are being contested after the previous councillors stood down.

Voting will take place in the ward on Thursday, 4 July – the same day as the General Election – and the result will be announced on Monday, 8 July.

With two people to be elected to the borough council, the candidates are:

  • BERRISFORD Mandy, of Newcastle-under-Lyme, Conservative;
  • KEARON Tony, of Newcastle-under-Lyme, Labour;
  • MORGAN Tanya, of Greenmeadows Road, Madeley, Independent;
  • RADFORD Claire Annette, of Newcastle-under-Lyme, Labour;
  • WHITMORE Jill, of Newcastle-under-Lyme, Conservative.

There are 44 seats on the authority. Including the two vacancies, the current position is that the Conservatives have 23 seats and Labour 18, plus one independent.

Following a change in the law, everyone attending a polling station on 4 July, for the General Election and the Borough Council by-election, will need an acceptable form of photo identification. More information about photo identification requirements is available here.

*This article was updated 09.57 10.06.2024 to reflect a change in the number of candidates.