Town Deal governance - Newcastle

What is the Town Deal Board?

The Towns Fund has issued strict guidelines for managing Town Deals. Town Deal boards are not legal entities. However, setting up a Town Deal board, bringing together local people and organisations to develop transformational projects for their area, was an essential part of the Town Deal award.

The board’s responsibilities include developing the Town Investment Plan and business cases and overseeing delivery of the projects. The board comprises representatives from the public, private, voluntary, education and community sectors.

The role of the board is to advise us on the needs of their area and for monitoring progress with the projects that make up the town investment plan.

Newcastle Town Deal board members

  • Aspire Housing - Dan Gray
  • Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) - Jo Reilly
  • Keele Parish Council - Graham Bibby
  • Keele University - Trevor McMillan OBE (Chair)
  • Knights plc - Carl Copestake
  • Member of Parliament - Aaron Bell
  • New Vic Theatre - Fiona Wallace
  • Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council - Councillor Stephen Sweeney (Vice Chair)
  • Newcastle Business Improvrmrnt District (BID) - Eddie Leligdowicz
  • Newcastle and Stafford Colleges Group - Jane Tunnicliff
  • Silverdale Parish Council - Henryk Adamczuk
  • Staffs Chambers - Gemma Whalley
  • Staffordshire County Council - Councillor Philip White
  • VAST - Lisa Healings

Terms of reference

Board meetings are held online. The way the board operates is set out in the terms of reference which you can download:

Download the terms of reference

Project groups

Project sub-groups have been set up to oversee the development and delivery of each project. These sub-groups bring in other organisations with relevant knowledge and expertise.

The sub-groups report back to the main board to update on progress and seek approval for important decisions.